I wanted to stand atop a chair and yell as loudly as my voice would allow, “I’m not doing it for attention! These tears are involuntary!!”

I wanted to scream it from the rooftops, bellow it through a megaphone. But then, of course, that would just draw more unnecessary attention upon myself, which is exactly what I did not want.

So instead, I found myself sobbing in the bathroom on my break, staring desperately at the mirror, willing myself to stop. But my body doesn’t work that way. Crying is, as aforementioned, an involuntary reaction, and on this particular day, I simply could not stop it. I was mortified. And the spiral was getting deeper. Now I was crying because I couldn’t believe I was a grown woman, a teacher, crying at work. I felt like a blithering fool. I felt so defeated.

I’m still not sure what even happened that morning. It was a typical day, the start of a new session with new students. I had just had a delightful first two periods, and now my coworker Yolanda would teach that group of students grammar, and I would have my break.

“So? How are the troops?” Yolanda asked me regarding our shared class. We sat in the office, side-by-side, we were desk neighbors. Behind us sat our manager, Marsha, on her laptop at her own desk.

“They’re really good.” I smiled. “Especially this older gentleman, Beom-Soo. He’s fantastic. Really nice too. He was already asking me about MLA referencing and formatting. I wonder if he learned that from here, or if he’s studied Academic English somewhere else.”

We continued chatting for a moment, when another teacher, Oksana, entered the room. She taught the optional level below mine. I wanted to know more about Beom-Soo.

“Hey Oksana,” I asked, leaning back harmlessly to face her. “Did you have my student Beom-Soo in your class? Because –”

And that was it. That is why Oksana exploded on me. “You know, I really don’t think it’s fair that you guys sit here and talk shit about students!”

I was stunned. I hadn’t been, nor did I ever, “talk shit about students.” Oksana on the other hand, was fairly loose lipped about the students she disliked, and there were plenty. I didn’t get a chance to formulate a response because Oksana kept right on yelling. I sat wide-eyed, my mouth agape, as she continued, “The way a student acts in my class has nothing to do with the way he acts in your class! It is completely irrelevant! It is extremely unprofessional to come in here and talk shit about them!!”

I nodded dumbly with a forced smile. I didn’t necessarily think anything she was saying was incorrect. Just completely unfounded. I tried to get a word in, “Yeah, of course. I just -”

“I don’t want to discuss students!” She screamed before storming out of the office.

Throughout the blast, I had waited for my manager Marsha to pipe in and explain to her that I was not, under any circumstances, saying anything negative about a student. It had been quite the opposite. I had waited for Marsha to tell Oksana that discussing students’ performance across levels was, in fact, encouraged to ensure the best possible path for them. It was good to discuss their strengths and merits in a professional manner that could be beneficial for the students. I had waited for Marsha to tell Oksana that berating a colleague aggressively in the office, in front of coworkers, was completely unacceptable behaviour that would not be tolerated. It was the epitome of unprofessional.

But none of that happened. Marsha sat there silently, and Yolanda wore the same look of horror that I did. I began to wonder if they thought what she had said was true. That neither of them had actually been listening to me, and that they believed that I had been ready to “talk shit” about a student. Teachers do do that in the office from time to time, and although I have on occasion expressed frustrations, it was certainly not a habit of mine. Of all the people present in the office that morning, I was the least culpable. I felt blind sighted by the injustice of this attack. My stomach dropped and my body began to quiver. Tears filled my eyes regardless of how hard I tried to ward them off. I couldn’t help it.

But before I could escape the office, to calm myself down, there was a knock at the door. A student from my afternoon class was here for an appointment I had forgotten we had scheduled. He wanted to go over the outline for his cause-and-effect essay. I took a deep breath and regained my composure, blinked back those unwanted tears and stood up to have our meeting.

I’m not sure if my student noticed my bloodshot eyes as we spoke. He may have been too focused on the complicated writing structure we discussed. Although my body was shaking, I thought I was doing a good job. My student didn’t seem to notice a thing, asking many questions and taking notes diligently. It wasn’t even awkward. I was even starting to feel better.

Until Marsha passed by us on her way to the bathroom. She took one look at my eyes, my pitiful eyes, the eyes I could not control if I wanted to, and she rolled her own. She muttered loudly as she walked by, “oh God,” as if I was the problem. Now I was even more hurt. Wounded. I was trying my best. I couldn’t believe this was the school I worked in. The place where just a year before, in another department, I was being praised. Now I just felt like I was being ambushed. Despite my crumbling confidence, I do think I managed to do a good job hiding my feelings and having a productive meeting with that student.

I had my breakdown in the bathroom after the meeting was over. The weight of it all overtook me, and I sobbed uncontrollably.

2017

18 thoughts on “The Attack

  1. Oh my God. I could feel this one right the way through. I felt all the emotions, the injustice, and everything. I related so well to the thing about crying. I feel the same way and try not to. This is just such a brilliant write.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Guessing this is not a recent occurrence yet be that as it may we’ve all had some one go nuclear on us. It’s usually staged, they’ve been waiting for just the right opportunity. It sucks and tears are warranted but eventually you get to a place where it all rolls right off, their problem. Not you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Being publicly attacked and having no one, including your supervisor, stand up for you is something I’ve never stood for. I walked away from two very good paying jobs (at the time) because I could no longer trust those people around me. I don’t like to be the fake-focus of other people and their problems and that’s what this sort of situation usually boils down to. Aside from that — you are more hard-core than me. You stayed. I didn’t.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Wow, Oksana clearly was taking out whatever problems she had in her own life by exploding on you for asking a question that had nothing to do with “talking shit” about students. And Marsha is a horrible, unempathetic manager to have let that slide.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a dreadful experience. I am so sorry that no one stood up. I hope this conflict is now resolved because I do not like to think of you continuing in that kind of staffroom atmosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is definitely resolved, but still working there, it’s hard because sometimes I look back and still get upset about it. But it’s okay. Things happen and people make mistakes. If anything, it was a good office learning experience for me.

      Thanks for the kind words 😊

      Like

Leave a comment